Trip to the Farmers Market

2013-05-18 Orcas Farmers Market 011Orcas Island Farmers Market

Clark and I have been on Orcas Island for 4 days and it has rained every single day.  My anticipated field trips have been postponed twice.  I would not mind cloudy, it is great for photographs, but the rain has put a ‘damper’ on tour plans. The forecast shows sun tomorrow!

Rain or shine, I was determined to not miss the Farmers Market today.  As you can see, it was raining!  Can’t keep down great spirit, vendors were friendly and eager to share 2013-05-18 Orcas Farmers Market 037information and knowledge. There was great conversations, bought a few lovely items and wet my appetite for the farm tours, now scheduled for Monday.

I have missed my friends at Over the Fence with Friends this week, and thought of you while making lunch and wanted to share this amazing salad with you.

We fired up the BBQ last night and grilled up a juicy London Broil, with side of asparagus and sweet potato.  We had enough for leftovers.

During today’s field trip to the Farmers Market I made a bright little purchase of salad greens and created London Broil Steak Salad for lunch.

2013-05-18 Orcas Farmers Market 005A couple of the little surprises inside this salad you may like to try yourself, sweet potato and strawberries. Some people might be saying, “sweet potato?” Yes, it adds a great dimension, bit of sweetness and great source of vitamin A and potassium.

As quick as you can make a regular green salad, you can make a sumptuous salad for lunch or dinner, even your carnivore lovin’ husband will love! Fresh salad greens, fruit, potato, meat, cheese and a quick dressing, done.

Beef Salad Ingredients: 

  • Left over steak (any kind) cut thinly
  • 2 hand full, fresh spring greens
  • 4 Strawberries, quartered and cut in half
  • 1 Sweet potato, baked, cooled, peeled and cut into cubes.
  • 1 oz ea, Cheddar and swiss cheese, cubed (or your choice)
  • Sprinkle of parmesan on top

 Dressing:IMG_5001

  • ½ cup Olive oil
  • 1 small Garlic clove
  • 1 Tbs Fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 1 Tbs Water
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • Blend in blender or with emulsion blender.

Drizzle on top salad before you place meat on top of salad, sprinkle with parmesan. Enjoy!

About Felecia McAbee

I am blessed far beyond imagination and joy filled from the inside out! I am married to my best friend and sweetheart, Clark. We have 5 grown children between us and one very spoiled cocker spaniel, Sophie. I am happy when my hands are in the earth gardening and in the kitchen cooking and my heart in Jesus. My goal is to Educate, Entertain and Empower friends, while having fun along the way. One of my very favorite scripture versus is Galatians 6:9 Let us not grow weary of doing good; for in the proper time we will reap the harvest; IF we do not GIVE UP!
This entry was posted in Changing Seasons, Field Trip, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trip to the Farmers Market

  1. JoAnn says:

    Sounds like your determination is paying off and you are enjoying yourself in spite of the weather! Good for you! The salad sounds interesting!!! I will have to try that!

Leave a comment